Big Water

The view across Haweswater to Low Raise. 
I blipped a version of this view just a few days ago.
I was sure that the view of Small Water -or even Missy's first snow (both in extras) would be an easy choice today - but this view just stole my heart.

A grey cold start - but I just knew I had to be out. 
So an easy favourite called - but one with a subconscious edge. Missy still can't go far - and new experiences are vital for her - so a short sharp blast up to the snow seemed ideal. Missy didn't notice the steepness, but was both hilarious and happy on and in the snow.

It was wild-camping here three years ago that a simple slip caused catastrophic damage to an old injury - here that mortality finally caught me for a reckoning. I'd not thought I'd be nervous or even really consciously thinking about it today - but I found myself trying to visualise which turn of the path it had been, which treacherous rock had been my undoing, wondering if lightening really does strike twice. I was helplessly aware that too much deliberation went into each footstep, that too much emphasis echoed off every sensation, I was just too tense - and that doesn't work well for walking with ease. Eventually I sat and paused, centred myself a while, laughed at myself a little longer and carried on. 

A day like this should simply be enjoyed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.