Goodbye to the Three Amigos!

We set out in the misty murk this morning to orienteer at Hugset Wood near Barnsley.  It was time to pack the Three Amigos in to their box for them to travel on to their next host later in the day.  My blip is of them sitting on our wall of our Victorian terraced house whilst I packed the car.

Hugset is an amazing area for orienteering.  It is full of old mining bell pits and you have to really focus on the navigation to ensure you keep on line, otherwise it is very difficult to relocate when you are surrounded by holes in the ground.  The planner had devised clever courses which meant we were changing direction often.  I had 25 controls to find in just 3k so they were coming thick and fast.  I wasn't moving too fast but I was quite accurate up to no.14 when I think I went in at too sharp an angle and went right past the control I was seeking.  A bit of wandering about and then a decision to return to the path meant I actually passed the control en route, yay result!  I finished in 30th place out of 88 so happy with that.  Tony made a six minute error on one control which was expensive, so he wasn't best pleased.

Sadly the Three Amigos didn't get a chance to go out on the course, much too muddy to risk them!  After changing and having a cuppa, it was time to navigate to yeeeeed's house to pass on the boys.  She was out for a cycle ride for the day so we left them safely with her lovely neighbour and enjoyed her fabulous view of the Shibden Valley (now in glorious blue sky and sunshine!  Where did that come from?!) before heading home for a bath and Sunday roast.

It's been smashing hosting the Three Amigos and showing them our little slice of Yorkshire, and I look forward to seeing what they get up to next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.