GALENTINES DAY - heard of it ?

When I was in Boots yesterday I picked up a copy of their magazine and I started flicking through it this afternoon.  I came across a couple of references to " Galentines Day" - which I had never heard of before. 

So I " Googled " and found this out.....  "In an episode of the American comedy television series Parks and Recreation shown in 2010  a character throws her annual "Galentine's Day" party for her female friends - celebrated the day before Valentines Day.  Since then "Galentine's Day" has transcended the television screen and become established in everyday culture. On February 13 Galentine's Day, a nonofficial holiday, is celebrated as a day for "ladies celebrating ladies."

I'm all for girl friends celebrating their friendship but I get the impression that February 13th will just turn into a day that retailers will use to sell gifts.  Boots are obviously trying hard this year - one of their recommendations to give to your female friends on Galentines Day - a terranium!

I have had a very relaxing day - I have a busy-ish week ahead so I took the opportunity to do nothing much today. 

Steps today - 2,935

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.