Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A walk in the woods

Even though the wind was blowing pretty cold air the sun was shining today.  We decided after lunch to ride up to Lynches Woods to take a walk on the dirt road there since it was probably too muddy from the heavy rain last night to walk anywhere else in the woods.  The road was in pretty good shape and there were only a few puddles.   We only saw three other people so we let the dog off her leash so she could explore.   The walk was about 4 miles.  

When we were about half way, I saw Jerry stop in the road ahead of me and motion for me to be quiet.  The dog was back where I was so I made her stay close to me as I moved forward.   In the woods off the road this doe stood watching us.    The dog was not even worried about her being there.    I got several shots off before the deer decided we were staying around just a little too long!    First time for seeing a deer in this area even though I walk it a good bit.

The beech trees were so pretty in the woods.  I love how they keep their brownish gold color even in winter.   I added one photo of the picnic area in the extras and one of the leaves in a puddle.      

My cousin in Cleveland said she was coming down as soon as she could dig out from all the snow they had yesterday!!    I had to tease her about our blue sky sunshiny day!    She keeps talking about finding something down here for the winter but then decides not...until it snows again!!  
Hope all the blippers in the snow storm are doing well as they dig out!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.