Hellebore flowers in the garden

Dusk was approaching when I got home and I suddenly thought of blipping the hellebore flowers. They are in the front garden but as they are at their best when the weather is often at its worst we seldom get to fully appreciate them.

I quickly swapped to a macro lens, which has brought its own problems, and gathered some plastic to lie on and headed outside. Lying on the grass just a few inches away from them reminded me how beautiful they are. I also realised that we have two differently patterned varieties of mostly pink flowers. Their heads are about eight inches from the ground level.

I must admit that I give then no attention other than taking their picture each winter and admiring them in passing when leaving the house. Last year I was particularly inattentive to their needs and they became smothered by high grass for most of the year. I promise I will let them have more light this year and maybe even give them some dressing. I'll ask Liz W. for advice as I know she loves and carefully looks after her many varieties. As I was finishing it began to spit with rain again and I retreated inside again to blip them for your delight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.