Blood Wolf Moon

I didn't plan on getting up to see the lunar eclipse/blood moon, but I took my camera upstairs when I went to bed, just in case.  I woke up at 2am, but turned over and went back to sleep and then woke up again at 4.50am so I went into the back bedroom to have a look if I could see it, not really expecting to, but there it was!  I went and got my camera, opened the window and took a few shots before heading back to bed, but I lay there thinking I should really get the tripod.  

As I couldn't get back to sleep, I got back up, got the tripod and went back into the back room, took a few more shots and went back to bed, then got back up about 6am, took a few more and took the last ones about 7am by which time it was very bright.

It was amazing to see, and I'm really pleased that I managed to see it from the warmth of our house, rather than having to get up and out in the freezing cold like some people.  I've made a collage of the lunar eclipse at different stages, and although the images aren't particularly sharp, I'm really pleased with them. 

It was a very frosty morning, and -2 degrees but lovely and sunny, I went out to top up the bird feeders and the field was white.  We have a resident pheasant in the field and we hear him in the mornings, and this morning I could see him running across the field, it's lovely to see and hear him, he makes me smile.  Then when I was back in the house, I looked out of the kitchen window and saw a squirrel on the face, it's only the second time in the 4.5 years of living here that I've seen him.

The rest of my day has been spent at work, and tonight I met Amanda down near the pier to watch the murmuration, but there wasn't much of a sunset and the birds didn't perform too well, so we gave up and went and had a drink instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.