Tiny Tuesday: "Special Memento"

KangaZu would like us to blip a special memento for today's Tiny Tuesday.

My Editor gave me a pair of silver Blue John cufflinks many years ago - they're particularly special as they were made by her sister who used to make jewellery as a hobby.

Blue John stone (also known as Derbyshire Spar) is a semi-precious mineral, a form of fluorite with bands of a purple-blue or yellowish colour. In the UK it is found only at Blue John Cavern and Treak Cliff Cavern at Castleton in Derbyshire. During the 19th century it was mined for its ornamental value, and mining continues on a small scale today. My Sister-in-Law used to live just a few miles from there.

Getting the light right, to show the details of the stone, was a little tricky. In the end I used a torch as I could angle the light how I wanted it, and I rather like the slightly dream-like reflections it produced.

Thankyou so much to everyone who starred and/or hearted my Blood Moon blip yesterday - I'm really excited as it is currently on the top line of Page One of "Popular", which makes the early start to the day worthwhile!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.