Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Scarecrow

I set my alarm for 04.30 so that I could catch the lunar eclipse. The sky was clear and I walked out onto the moor for a wider panoramic view. The moon was already in the fully eclipsed blood moon stage, but I stayed and watched until about 06.00, as Earth’s shadow slowly slipped away.

I headed over to Selby for the rest of the day, following the Selby Horseshoe walk out along the Selby canal, over the fields to Thorpe Willoughby and then back into town.

At the point that I left the canal this view over to Eggborough Power Station opened up. At first I thought the scarecrow was a golfer, but then I realised there wasn’t a golf course.

Back in town I paid a short visit to Selby Abbey, pottered about, got some tea and then headed over to Selby FC. Selby were in a West Riding County Cup Quarter Final against FC Halifax Town, a team that sit five leagues above them in the pyaramid. Halifax raced into a three goal lead in the first 20 minutes. The lead grew to 1-5 before Selby pulled a couple back with around half an hour to go. Halifax went down to nine men, but Selby couldn’t find a way through, so 3-5 it remained.

Today's miles walked: 12.6. Walking total: 110.8/1000

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.