"Special Momento"

When I was in my mid 20's, my friend and I spent four weeks traveling around Germany, Austria and Switzerland. I'd broken my foot 5 weeks before we were supposed to leave & it was in a cast (they didn't use boots back then). Since I had no intention of delaying our trip, I insisted the doctor remove my cast the day before we left--a week early--& he was not happy, but I was!  I slowly gimped my way around the sights. We were in Bavaria, walking the steep road up to Neuschwanstein Castle, & I had to stop & sit down part way up because my foot was bothering me. After we sat down, I watched an elderly German man come walking up that steep road at a pace I'd have never kept up with even without the foot injury. I'm terrible at guessing ages, but I'd have bet he was in his 70's; he had a walking stick & was wearing what looked to me like an old fashioned (? traditional) outfit and hat. He looked at us and said "It's high, yes"? then sat down & started talking to us. He was just the nicest man, and changed to English when I said I didn't understand German, although he said his English was not very good (but it was!).  He sat and chatted with us for quite awhile, & then we all started walking......he was out of sight in no time! Talk about being fit!  So this is my special momento--a fun reminder of our time in Germany, and of the very nice gentleman we met on our travels.   I'm serving dinner at the homeless meal site tonight, and Tom has an early MD appointment tomorrow morning, so I may be a bit behind on commenting. :))
Thanks to KangaZu for hosting tinytuesdays this month! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.