Tiny Feathers

I have to agree with the irritated woman who said, "It's not a government shutdown. I wish they would stop calling it a government shutdown. A lot of people are still working. They just aren't getting paid". I also have to agree with Nancy Pelosi who said the latest "offer" fromTrump is just giving back, temporarily, what he has already taken away, in exchange for a permanent wall which is nothing but a monument to himself. Is there no end to the suffering this man can inflict on people who have no defense against it? He's a cowardly bully.

Ozzie and I hustled around the circuit this morning admiring the frost on the roofs and skirting the mud in the ditches. Well, I skirted the mud. Ozzie thought it was terrific. I thought I might go to Acre for a cup of coffee but got caught up looking at stuff I don't need on the computer. After what seemed like hours of that, I decided I really don't want it....

The tiny Balinese vase, about two inches high, full of tiny feathers on my desk caught my eye. It is next to a little plate, given to me by Blippers California Girl and Carolinav, with all sorts of oddities I've picked up on my walks on it. I'm sure I've posted many of these things before, but they continue to fascinate me.

Our lemon tree by the front door is loaded with lemons, but the leaves are beginning to match the fruit in color. I noticed that water was pouring off the corner of the roof into that bed, bypassing the gutter which is meant to divert the water into the drain. I mentioned to OIlMan that maybe the tree was getting too much water, so he dragged his ladder out there and investigated. Some time later he came back in and remarked that the entire drain pipe was clogged with acorns!

When we cut down the palm trees where the woodpeckers stashed acorns in the bark, they seem to have discovered the drains. it's a great place to store them but not so easy to retrieve them again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.