Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Day #3 Christ Church, Russell, Bay of Islands

What a glorious day! We dropped anchor just off Paihia at just after 6:30am and I was up for the sail in due to me not quite getting in the right time zone. But is was beautiful, warm, clear and a couple of dolphins came to say hello which was nice. 

We had booked a "hole in the rock" dolphin cruise so headed out quite early to shore and had a lovely cruise, went through the "hole" and then headed back in - however there were no dolphins. I was happy to have seen them first thing in the morning. But we do get a "lifetime" voucher to come back for a free cruise next time we happen to be in Paihia! Apparently, someone came back after 19 years and of course they honoured the voucher and it is now proudly displayed on their office wall. 

We then go dropped off at Russell and had lunch and a wander. My blip today is Christ Church, which is the oldest church in New Zealand apparently. 

In the afternoon we went to the Waitangi grounds and had a good look around - really interesting and some new birds for me to add to my list - once I find out what they are!!! 

There were also lots of what looked like large monarch butterflies fluttering about which were just fantastic. 
Dolphins, an unknown seabird and a butterfly in Extras. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.