Winding between the ponga ...

... the path passed in and out of the sunlight.

Actually this path is designated as a track for "mountain bikes". It winds back and forth, up and down the north side of the gully between Kingsland and Arch Hill through the native tree regeneration which is occurring up from the northwestern motorway (officially known as State Highway 16) running along the bottom of the gully. I encountered not even a single bike as I travelled through the reserve.

When I got to the southwestern end of the reserve, I went up a path (including more than a few steps) to emerge beside the Grey Lynn library on Great North Road. Thence it was a simple trek back to the apartment. In the process I passed the Old St Joseph's convent, in more recent times known as The Mission, a very low quality boarding house for those unable to afford or stay in better accommodation. A photo of it is my extra for today.

It was sold in July 2018, and many of us have wondered about the purchaser's intentions. I could see no signs in front of the building about what is being done. The scaffolding looks more than would be needed for a simple demolition job, so it may be that the building will be saved, and if so, I hope that it serves those in need as it did when first completed in the 1920s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.