Sulphur Flats

A second jog this morning. Harder than yesterday. Nevertheless, there was more running than walking even if some of the running was briefer than I had hoped. As well as running along part of the edge of Sulphur Bay, I did find a number of decorated utility boxes, some done by Paul Walsh, most of whose work is in Auckland.

However, my choice for today is the steam coming from vents on the far side of the bay from where I was looking over the flats at the head of Sulphur Bay. I looked hard for the Banded Dotterel which nests here, but is rare and not often seen. None were seen this morning either.

I did see, and get a photograph of, a chaffinch. Later, when on a last walk with the Tsuken family before leaving for Auckland, I saw a small bird which may be an immature chaffinch. 

Three more days here in the apartment before they head back to Sydney. Its been a good time so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.