Wall Screw-moss

A light fall of snow had turned Stonepit Close into a sugar-dusted confection,  sparkling and glinting in the morning sun. The snowfall had frozen overnight giving rise to what our family termed 'snost' - a hybrid between snow and frost with a clear crystalline structure that provides a satisfying crunch when you walk on it. The cold almost took my breath away, but was so uplifting - I really am a creature of the north.

I meandered slowly through this fairytale landscape, admiring the ice droplets adorning the birch branches and seed-heads of hedge bedstraw and studying ice-etchings in the frozen puddles (see extras). 

Needless to say I took plenty of photographs, but I can never resist the sporophytes of wall screw-moss, the bright yellow stems providing a warm counterpoint to the frosty scene. And they're even better when they're covered with droplets, melting as the sun first catches them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.