Memorable Moments

So worthwhile to have time out from having "to get stuff done" on the Land, that we agreed to stay another night in Lisbon. And it has been good, and I walked 13,000 steps and the pain is bearable in my foot.

Not the best photo, Lisbon is so photogenic, but definitely the moment I most want to remember. We were wandering back to the car, when I saw a quirky looking bookshop, and persuaded Mike to stop just for a bit... And then I saw there was going to be a discussion with an author, and was already regretting that we'd miss it, when I realised it was due to start in half an hour, I was so excited. Isabel Stilwell has written some excellent historical novels on different Portuguese queens, I've read a couple, but didn't know much about her. 

Anyway, she was so simpática, as they say here, that's her on the right. She had British parents, but was born and raised in Portugal. She writes in Portuguese, and her older sister translates them into English. Because we were right in front, we got involved in the discussion (and also why I took only this quick snap)... she apparently keeps a boat in Mourão somewhere, so hoping we can meet up again one day.

And if you'd like to know more about the only English queen of Portugal, Philippa; or the only Portuguese queen of England, Catherine, see here, real page turners, but also historically accurate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.