Some hae meat*

In fact we will NOT hae meat tonight for our Burns Supper. It is a long, long time since I ate a 'proper' haggis. I’m quite partial to an improper, veggie one though. I don’t like dwelling on the composition of haggis and a decent Macsween veggie alternative does the job for me. Despite the lack of meat I'm grateful to be able to enjoy a hearty meal later today.

Here we have haggis, neeps, tatties and my ancient copy of Burns Poems - cost 9/-. That's 45p in today's money. (Though turnips now seem to be called swedes. In my day a swede was one of those small white vegetables with a purplish tinge).

I’m sure a dram might be enjoyed this evening to toast the bard and in memory of EJH whose funeral took place a year ago today.

*The Selkirk Grace

Some hae meat and canna eat,
And some wad eat that want it;
But we hae meat, and we can eat,
Sae let the Lord be thankit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.