A Quickie

I normally write a thousand words before coming to the point but today I am worried my lack of any reputation may result in prosecution.

The "Quickie" is the pet name for "Quickfire" an 8 year old Welsh Terrier who Luna and I encountered at the end of our horrible walk in the Bannwald forest above Ottobeuren. Mrs Quickfire seemed a little unnerved that a) I knew it was a Welsh Terrier and b) I spurted out some nonsense about an English Welsh Terrier who exchanged gifts with American and other assorted Welsh Terriers and if I could take a photo to send to Murphy who would be delighted to see a Rest EU27 comrade.

Poor lady was so confused she agreed but then got very worked up explaining that Quickie didn't look his best and needed to go to the hair stylists urgently. I tried calming her by saying yes I know, Murphy was forever at the local parlour enjoying a full wash, cut and perm.

The photo does not do Quickfire any justice, He seemed to be a very sociable type and Luna looked interested. However, it really was very dangerous simply as a person to take a step and downright suicidal with a dog on a lead keen to make new friends.

I had planned to do my first walk with Luna in weeks along a very flat meadow area but there was nowhere near that was freed from snow enough to park a car. Even with my 4x4 Jeep, I was not prepared to even attempt making an off-road adventure. So had ended up at the Bannwald where the car park was partly cleared. The tracks, although firm gravel had only been partially cleared. Much of the walk was on hard packed ice that was as good as an ice rink and combined with mostly up and down slopes was very strenuous. Luna with her 4x4 could spend most of her time in the snow.

Extra show a bit of what it was like and in Ottobeuren. The shiny surface is not wet - it's sheet ice glimmering in the -6°C sunlight. The snow is going nowhere in these days where the temperature never gets above freezing point

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.