Flower Friday : : Hellebore

I didn't mind spending quite awhile in the garden today, Even though the flowers are few and far between. The weather has been near freezing in the morning when I trudge off the class,  but was warm enough to sit outside in a tee shirt and read the newspaper by the time I came home . 

The hellebore looks like it has been valiantly blooming through two weeks of rain and is a little the worse for wear, but is definitely perking up in the sunshine. It is a very small plant which hasn't changed much at all since we planted it. Given the tendency of the flowers to look at the ground, I had to lie almost flat on my stomach to get this picture.  It was not until I did that that I realized that the ground is still quite wet....

I just managed to erase my previous scintillating prose in an effort to improve the look of the picture. I think it's one of those days when one must leave well enough alone and start again tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.