Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Durham

After a poor night's sleep we were up early and left home at about 6.30am to drive to Durham. As Gavin was very tired, I drove about half the journey which is unusual for me as I don't like long distance driving, which I found rather tiring after little sleep last night. I had made breakfast - overnight oats with berries, seeds and nuts - and we stopped to eat this and get a coffee. 

We got to Durham well before lunch and met Luke and Meriel. We had a walk along the river and then Meriel went off to her netball match while the rest of us went to find some lunch. 

This is a view of Elvet Bridge. It is a dull day but it still makes a lovely scene with the cathedral (still in scaffolding) and the old castle in the background. An extra of some shops and cafes.

We have brought wine and champagne for the dinner tonight - the house mates are busy preparing for the dinner this afternoon, I believe we are having salmon en route for dinner (sans the en croute for me as I cannot eat gluten). It will be lovely to meet the other parents too, as we know all his house mates quite well as they have been friends since first year.

Tomorrow it is an earlyish start as we head back home again. Thomas is at home and has just asked what setting he must use for the washing machine....good boy!

I don't really have time for journals today as we are only here for one day and it is busy. I am quickly uploading this while we are relaxing in our hotel room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.