Finally....Winter!

Coming in to land at Heathrow this morning it looked very white outside. It looked more like frost than snow, though, and it was grey. When I got to my car there was a very thin layer of wet snow, but it didn’t look too snowy around the airport or along the drive home.

But when I got off the motorway and continued to drive into the Berkshire countryside, the snow was much thicker. And by the time I got home, the sun had come out, though still very cold! It was lovely to see a blanket of snow on my back garden! It’s not a huge amount but it’s been so warm this season that it’s good to see a bit of winter.

I decided to put out food and fresh water for the birds before I went to bed, and was amazed to see what looked very much like deer prints over my lawn. I’ve seen deer peering over my fence a couple of times (in the gap between my fence and the taller railway fence), but it looks like they may have actually jumped down into my garden.  I’ve added one of the footprints as an extra photo. What do people think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.