gang aft agley *

First, I was going to be away this weekend, so I gave apologies for the all day meeting at work. Then I wasn't going away, but a friend offered me a ticket to see the London Community Gospel Choir at the Big Burns Supper. So I thought I would go to the meeting for the afternoon, but I'd just visit a friend on the way....and I found the friend ill in bed, and that was that. I'm glad to say that I've never had to phone NHS Direct before - I didn't even know the number -and I hope I don't have to phone them again for a long time. Not that they weren't very professional (after I'd been on hold for 20 minutes) but treating a patient over the phone using an algorithm is never going to be perfect. After much questioning, the verdict was that a doctor's visit was needed, so I read while my friend dozed on and off. Late in the afternoon, the GP came. The visit was less than satisfactory.

The choir was excellent, though, and it was great to be back in the lovely Speigeltent. Next Saturday afternoon, the Samba Sisters will be playing in the Festival Hub at 2pm. If you are in the area, it would be good to see you :-)

* for those of you who don't speak Scots, this means "often go awry". It's from Robert Burns' poem "To A Mouse" -

" The best-laid schemes o' mice an' men 
Gang aft agley, 
An' lea'e us nought but grief an' pain, 
For promis'd joy! "

And then of course I went and forgot that this is my 2500th blip! One day I will remember my blip anniversary and get organised with a special celebratory photo. meantime, thanks to all those who follow me and take the time to comment. What a great community this is :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.