(i )forest

 "Laying claim to flânerie has always enabled women to reroute the paths they were expected to take, and disrupt the lives they were expected to live."

Today, tomorrow and possibly on Tuesday, depending on the weather, I have planned some walks, provisionally one in the forest, one up a hill and one by the shore. This is partly to keep Jess happy, but also because it's what I love to do. I'm happy to walk alone, in fact I often prefer it - for reasons articulated very well here.

Coincidentally, on my drive to the start of the walk, I was listening to the radio and the programme was all about women who walk. The part I heard was mostly about walking art (yes, its a thing - see here for some pretty extreme examples) and about walking in cities (I'm sure I've always been a flâneuse).

Here is a photo of part of my forest walk, near the end, when the sun was getting low in the sky.

Thank you to everybody who left stars, hearts and nice comments on my blip anniversary yesterday. Also to those who wished my friend well. She seemed a little better today :-)

And Jess is happy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.