Wet & Cold

This male Pileated was apparently not thrilled with the rain and 'cooler' temps this morning.The rain began around 4:00am and is forecasted to continue through tomorrow morning. I noticed this handsome boy firmly attached to the trunk of our winged-elm. As I type this he has been in pretty much the same position for over three hours. Looking at him through binoculars I can see him looking up and from side to side, blinking the drops out of his eyes and, although the BarkButter feeder is full, he doesn't seem interested in snacking. There's a nagging in the back of my mind that I hope he's not ill, but he seems ok to me, just 'way over' all this wet stuff! And if he's got to hang out somewhere, I'm glad he's comfortable enough to have chosen our yard.
Wishing All of You a Very Peaceful Week! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.