Whiskey in the jar (not)

Well even by West Cork standards that was an hour unusually spent! Yes dear reader that is a hot tub (actually a whiskey barrel) you see before you, filled to the brim with hot water and seaweed and topped up every ten minutes!  The temperature outside was 4C and it was of course raining steadily but how heavenly!! I didn't quite know the etiquette though and there was nowhere to change but after an hour in there I didn't care! I should have bought by crocs and some people kept their hats on! The view was superb looking out into Bantry Bay with herons, curlews and oyster catchers doing their thing. The young couple next to me got out of their tub twice and had a quick swim! 
Here is the very nice chap emptying my bath ready for the next person. He was doing excellent business. I thought I was going to faint when I got out - all those toxins escaping and mega relaxation, but luckily I had a packet of Werther's in the car which restored me. I am now completely spaced out. Wild Atlantic Seaweed Baths

We managed to get to the talk last night on the right night and very good it was too -  Claudia Kinmonth gave a riveting lecture on Irish rural vernacular architecture - all dressers and settles she had discovered in her fieldwork mostly in West Cork.  Fascinating.

Whiskey in the Jar

And a quick backblip an amazing light before the rain and gales

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.