Mossy

In a postscript to yesterday's' entry, we came home from dinner at a neighbors and there was a message from Caroline, who cleans our house: Too funny the 2 dogs you posted are Mindy's dogs....I work for her two times a week. I gather that not only do they look like mops, they act like them too....

I woke up this morning with a cold which has become more debilitating as the day goes along.  I managed a nice walk to the area above Spring Lake before I lost interest in doing anything but sitting on the couch. I made some banana bread, but turned the dial on the oven the wrong way and have no way of telling if or when it will be done. I'm blaming it on the cold....

Walking through a shaded part of the trail I was struck by the moss growing in abundance on the rocks and trees. Even though it isn't a great shot, I thought the close up I took of the moss suited a passage in a book I am reading..the Signature of All Things  by Elizabeth Gilbert. She wrote Eat, Pray Love  which I thought was self indulgent and annoying, but so far this story is interesting.

Here is the passage which describes today's picture.: Alma knelt in the tall grass and brought her face as near as she could to the stone. And there, rising no more than an inch above the surface of the boulder she saw a great and tiny forest. Nothing moved within this mossy world. She peered at it so closely that she could smell it...dank and rich and old....



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.