Mono Monday : : Origins

I suppose it was a good thing that my Pilates class was canceled this morning so I didn't have to feel guilty about not going. I woke with a sore head, stuffy nose, prickly eyes and aching joints, trying not to think about the fact that I have to go to the dentist for  a new crown tomorrow....

I felt better after a hot shower just long enough to get myself to Costco. I returned the three pack of reading glasses we didn't want and trailed around past the giant boxes of laundry soap, huge jars of peanut butter, twenty pound packages of spare ribs and salmon and 5 pound bags of Peet's coffee. Peet's coffee. At Costco. Mercy. The world has come a long way from our daily morning cup at Peet's in Berkeley. Back then, at the beginning anyway, that was only the second Peet's store in the world! Their coffee was better too.

Somehow my appetite seemed to be failing me in the face of all that food, but the people who work there are unfailingly pleasant, and we customers watch each other with amusement as we pore over 6 packs of breakfast cereal and massive bags of fresh fruit from the refrigerated room....

I came home, found places for 200 garbage bags, 40 rolls of toilet tissue, chicken and cheese raviolis and tubs of Pad Thai noodles and then took to my bed where I remain. I hope OIlMan enjoys his Chicken Tikka Masala....

I took one picture today. It’s part of the martial arts building across the street from the gas station where I stopped to fill my car. It's origins are long lost in layer after layer of well intentioned but ineffective upgrades, including all the paint swatches which have remained untouched since we moved here over six years ago. I've never seen anyone coming or going  but somehow the place doesn't seem to be abandoned....

Thanks to jensphotos for taking over Mono Monday for the month of January

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.