The Craft Collective

We finished enough pouches to cram into the largest international shipping box.*  We had just about used up our collection of old sheets and tee shirts, not to mention our collective will to keep going so stopping seemed to be the right thing to do. These are wonderful women and we had a lot of fun together, but it is not easy to organize a project like this 
Three different sizes of pouches
Two or three liners of slightly different dimensions
Fabric for inners, fabric for outers and fabric with paint on it                 that needed to be avoided
Two sewing machines, 
One iron 
A huge cutting table
Seven pairs of scissors and rotary cutters.
I realized I was spending more time just directing traffic than I was cutting or ironing or sewing.
I think in the end we gave up trying to figure out which size was which and whether the inners and the outers were right, but we decided the joeys probably wouldn't care!
I think I could make a lot more if I did it by myself, but it wouldn't be anywhere near as much fun!

The best part is that Walking Wombat said, 'we can't underestimate the number of injured animals that they are having to deal with' so were glad we were able to help in our own small way.

We all brought something to share for lunch which was a pleasant way to finish up a project. 

Now we have to think of another one....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.