THIMUN 2019 #2

The purpose of art is to represent the meaning of things. This represents the true reality, not external aspects.
- Aristotle

All the delegates went on a day trip to Amsterdam with Sean and Ruth (who, unlike me had never been to the city before) whilst I stayed in The Hague with the three lads who as student officers for the conference were in session all day. The hotel this year is adjacent to the conference centre so, I took the opportunity to have a leisurely five course breakfast (!) and then just chill out in my room looking at the wind and rain outside. By 15.00 however, three things had happened - the rain had stopped, the sun was out, and I was catatonically bored. So, fifteen minutes later I'd walked to  Den Haag Photography Museum to see the current exhibition which turned out to be the work of Lauren Greenfield and a collection of images so disturbing that I'm still not sure if I'm glad that I went. Called "Generation Wealth" it made many uncomfortable visual statements about money and women and society values that, well, if the function of Art is to disturb, struck gold.  

Later, the three lads and I travelled down town to join all the others back from Amsterdam.  They had sushi.  We went down the road to the Fiddler, a favourite haunt of mine in the Hague, and now, I think, of Sean's as well. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.