My name is ... Ingeborg

:-) Ingeborg is my real name, as you can see on the certificate. I've explained the why and how of my name in an earlier Blip, apparently Ikea did have a shower curtain with the name Ingeborg once , see here.
I usually introduce myself as Inge outside of The Netherlands, as it's easier to remember and pronounce for most people.

I knew about Blipfoto  due to my OU studies and my love for photography. I had started to study for a degree in Information technology and Computing in Scotland and continued when we moved to Singapore and in between IT courses I did a short OU course in Digital Photograpy. That was the start of a renewed hobby and passion, there was so much to see and capture in Singapore and I could photograph anywhere, even when I was travelling back and forth to Europe all the time to care for the boys and mother-in-law. I knew some of my OU study friends (sarahhorrigan, nogbad, judith) had been keeping Blipfoto journals and while I did 365 projects on Flickr I wasn't so sure I wanted to keep a journal with text too. When we found a good nursing home in the Netherlands for mother-in-law and the boys were both reasonably settled at uni in Scotland I had more time for myself again and refound my second passion, being a docent in the Singapore museums as a member of the Friends of the Museums Singapore (FOM). That became a dedicated volunteer job ending in becoming a representative for all FOM docents and finally even the president of the FOM. It also gave me some unique opportunities for photography.

When DJ's employers relocated him to Belgium that was a major shock and change for me, from one day to another I lost my dream job.  Due to that plus by then knowing my bad health prospects I became rather depressed, at the verge of becoming a recluse. And that is when I remembered Blipfoto and almost 6 years ago started my journal in order to get myself out of the house. And it worked, plus it was so good to find this very caring and supportive community.
For MonoMonday with its theme 'Origins-What's in a name' today, with thanks to Jensphotos for hosting in January.

Speaking of origins, Singapore has a very special place in my heart, my father was born there, we have lived there twice etc, that's why I refer so often to it. The picture on my iPad here in my Blip today is of the statue of Sir Stamford Raffles at Boat Quay next to the Asian Civilisations Museum in Singapore, to commemorate his first landing in Singapore about there 200 years ago today, which set in motion the development of a sleepy fishing village with very few inhabitants on a rocky island then to the powerful city-state it has become today. A thing to remember no matter how we think about colonialism now.

Thanks very much for your kind comments and stars for yesterday's AT results and the cyclo-cross panning :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.