Return to the North

By Viking

Afternoon glow

Work this morning followed by some home made red pepper soup (auntie provided the fresh uncut bread) then a walk this afternoon. Timing meant I hit the sun low in the sky which casts a glow over this rather ordinary scene from my walk. A bit of HDR to strengthen the colours and Bobs your uncle.

I missed the memo on Jensphoto’s challenge to explain our blip name etc so as edit have added below.

I was introduced to blip by the brother of a friend while I was living out in NZ. I saw it as an opportunity for friends and family in the UK to see aspects of my daily life in NZ as well as the amazing countryside. To that point I chose the name ‘kiwilizzie’ (I am a Liz and I was in NZ, so kiwi) this was back in 2007/8? I have been a keen of rather amateur photographer for nearly 40 years ( Zenit, Practika to Canon film and now of course Canon digital) so I also saw the blipping as a challenge to improve my skills. I often think that I haven’t improved but then I look back at my first years blood and realise I have!
After some fairly traumatic issues in NZ I returned to the UK to live in 2016 and so my blip name seemed misleading- so I changed it to Viking! I live but a few miles from the start of the Viking way here in the UK so thought it apt. Many of the surrounding place names have Viking origins too. The Back up North bit I would imagine is obvious :-)
One unexpected bonus of what is now over 10 years on blip is the most amazing people I have met and where I’ve met them. Many of the people who’s journal I follow I have met face to face and many of those I would consider real rather than internet friends as a result of this amazing site and community.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.