Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie's beard...

...is taking over his face...

Bike.

No builders today. We had thought of perhaps going to the movies - Stan and Ollie - because we could leave Archie here without distraction. But it was such a lovely day, missing the sunshine and blue skies while in a dark cinema was just not on! A washing was done - this is what's going to be the problem, getting sheets dry (as our beloved pulley is out of action) of course. But on such a day, the sheets were out and dried!

We popped round to visit Bailey and her mum, then went up the hill. No wind! JR and Archie walked home, but I had a mission I needed to accomplish today.

Yesterday I broke the bottom toggle of my favourite duffle coat, which meant that the coat flapped open and was Not Very Efficient. I tried to fix it, but couldn’t stitch through the leather. I needed a professional.

I'd spotted a wee tailor shop in Tollcross on the way to the cinema last week, so I walked over there. The nice Italian lady did it there and then for me, wouldn’t accept any payment, and in fact, gave me a piece of cake!

I popped down to a nice Portuguese cafe, had a flat white and a pastel de nata (direct from Lisbon). I brought a couple of pastries back to the nice tailors.

Popped in to Rufus's house on the way home. Then got the washing in, dry but cold, and hung a big piece of plastic dust sheet across the bedroom door, ready for tomorrow. Enough for another door, as well. Dust will start in earnest tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.