Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

See!

On Saturday morning, after the 24-hour Blood Pressure Monitor had collected all the data it cared to, I removed it and wandered up to the bank to make enquiries about loans. Not that I have any desire to take out a loan, but it appears that I need to ascertain my cash value. Delightful.

On my way back home I popped into my favourite charity shops, and Emmaus had a chest I absolutely must have. To fit the chest into my flat I need to rid myself of the unlovely single divan bed kindly donated by a neighbour, and if I rid myself of that then I need to replace it with a piece that can provide a mostly sofa function but also, to a lesser degree, an impromptu guest bed function. 

Glory! At the back of the shop was a little child-bed which would make a perfect sofa, far better than the divan does, frankly. But it is a child bed, a shorty. 

So my next priority was to speak with my most likely impromptu guests to ask their heights and to find out if they could possibly sleep in a “shorty” bed. One is diminutive and one is “not-so-tall”. Both agreed that they would be able to spend a night on a “shorty” bed. 

My experience of sleeping on sofas tells me that it is a whole lot easier to sit on something designed as a bed than it is to sleep on something designed as a sofa.

Loads and loads of very careful measurements and I reckon I can just fit in both the chest and the child-bed-cum-sofa in the space currently occupied by the divan.

Emmaus will deliver and collect all at once so that's a bonus.
That occupied all of Saturday.

On Sunday I ventured out again and sourced some lovely rainbow coloured double-sided reusable velcro straps with which to fix the gizmo pouch on loan from the NHS. And then I returned to the Health Centre to return the gizmo.

Reception were having none of it. No! They couldn't take that back and neither could they tell me the weekday operating times of the cardio-diagnostic clinic. I knew already that they didn't open until 08:30 am, by which time I am normally hard at work on the opposite bank. Nobody could tell me at what time the clinic reception closed.

Ho hum. I cycled back home again and gracious me! The bicycle shop is open on a Sunday! And it had a sale on. So I popped in there and kitted myself out with some VERY hi-vis. (modelled here by Veera)

So on Sunday evening I emailed the cardio-diagnostic to find out when I could return the gizmo.

Bless them! They phoned me! They then made another phone call to find out the answer to my question and called me back with the answer! Reception at the Cardio-diagnostic clinic closes at 5pm and so I could leave work at my normal time and still arrive in time to return the gizmo.
Aren't helpful people helpful!

Today at work (Monday) the drawing office has been enjoying some banter. I am the member of the team with the earliest date of birth, and I am also the only member of the team who identifies as female. Banter can be rather fun.

There has been a fire on a landfill site in Scotland, and so office banter has incorporated such miss-matched concepts as; firefighters, kilts and hi-vis.

I leave that with you to enjoy :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.