Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Upstart

I awoke suddenly this morning, checked the time on my phone, realised that I had overslept horribly, swore a lot (opening sequence of Four Weddings and a Funeral), leapt out of bed, made a pot of coffee, jumped into a lovely warm shower, dressed for work and then, before assembling my lunchtime sandwich, checked the time again to see how bad it really was because in my haste, I had not bothered to turn on the radio.

Really it was 01:05. So I undressed and climbed back into bed wondering how on earth I could possibly have mistaken 00:45 for 06:45. By the time the alarm did wake me at 06:00 the coffee had gone cold so I put that aside and made myself a fresh pot.

Perhaps I should invest in a wall clock. 

Work was fun. A colleague had Googled hi vis kilts and shared the results with the rest of the team. And I had had a lovely chat with the Scottish site manager of the landfill site which had had quite so much excitement last week. He wants loads more copies of the drawings which show the locations of the fire hydrants because he had to give away rather a lot of copies during last week's "unseasonably warm" spell.

At a quarter to three I received a personal call on my mobile from the bank to enquire if I was still intending to attend my 2:30 appointment. Well yes, but it's a 4:30 appointment. Not according to the bank.

Well, if I can mistake 00 for 06 then it's only fair that the bank can be allowed to mistake 4 for 14.

So now my financial appraisal is rescheduled for lunchtime tomorrow over the telephone in the privacy of my open-plan office. So looking forward to that!

And what to do with a pot of cold coffee?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.