If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Squirrel on ice.

The Red Squirrels were providing a lot of entertainment this morning.  The first sighting was two chasing one another up and down and round and round on the  bird cherry tree.  I always hope to get a shot but they are always moving far too fast.

The second act was this little fella.  I looked out and potted him seemingly gnawing at the ice in the bird bath drinker.  My first thought was there is no need for that there is an unfrozen stream about 3 m (10 ft) behind you of you are thirsty.

Watching more closely I realised what was going on.   I hadn't yet been out to put the nuts in the feeder.  I also leave singles round the garden just to try to make sure they move around rather than dash in grab a nut and go.  One of yesterday's left on the side of the bath had been knocked in, then the water had frozen.   It was working had to either free it or open it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.