I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

OH, MY!

I decided to go out with my 15mm macro lens and see what I could do with it. I wasn't a block away from the house when a red-tailed hawk flew right over me and two ravens were flying with it. Not the right lens on the camera, but I knew that opportunity would come along another time.

I wanted to show you the lava fields that surround us. (see extra) While I was playing around with my shots, I noticed two great blue herons land at the edge of the field right in front of me. Again....wrong lens!! I fussed about this for a bit, but decided to go on with my planned outing, keeping an eye on the pair.

After about 1/2 an hour, they were still in the same spot. I quickly walked home, got my other camera with the long lens, hopped in the golf cart and returned.

I have a feeling this is a nesting pair. The one on the left would occasionally lift her (I am assuming) head up when a truck would drive by but mainly staying in this position. The one on the right (once again assuming, the male) stayed on lookout the whole time I watched them.  

If this is true....I have a project ahead of me. Tomorrow I am going to bring a step stool with me along with the tripod. I am grateful that I have the golf cart so I can bring as much as I want. The other great thing about this...it is in an undeveloped cul de sac. There is a little construction traffic going by but it obviously isn't bothering our herons.

I am also grateful that I got the house to the point it is right now. I have a feeling there isn't going to be a whole lot getting accomplished for a while.

Until tomorrow.....

I wish I didn't have to say this, but this looks so much better in large if you have time to take a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.