NellieD

By NellieD

MM - Origins

I took this blip before I remembered the Monday Challenge. It's a huge mural on the wall at the Pankhurst Centre by Tash Willcocks and I really like the stark nature of it. I managed to take a quick snap of it in between volunteering duties.

I've loved reading all the journal entries about the story behind people's blipfoto user names for the Mono Monday challenge. 

For as long as I can remember, my dad and grandma always called me Nellie. When I was 18 and worked at the Abbey National a friend called me at home and my dad shouted "Nellie, there's someone on the phone for you". I then became Nellie to everyone I worked with. It's the only name one friend ever calls me ... on birthday cards and even on the seating plan at her wedding when I was her bridesmaid - much to the amusement of the people I was sat next to as they were expecting an elderly relative. 

Thanks for hosting such an interesting challenge Jensphoto.

Song for today (which my grandma used to sing to me all the time):
There's an old mill by the stream, Nellie Dean
Where we used to sit and dream, Nellie Dean
And the waters as they flow,
Seem to murmur sweet and low
You are my heart's desire; I love you, Nellie Dean.
- Henry W Armstrong

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.