DOING A GREAT JOB!

I was supposed to meet a friend in town for coffee this morning but sadly she didn’t turn up - I did text her but heard nothing so hope all is well. I had some shopping to do, letters to post and another appointment so wandered through the town centre.

I had noticed that several of the litter bins were overflowing with rubbish and as I approached the indoor shopping area saw a Council workman washing out one of the bins. Guessing that not many would stop and chat, I decided I would, so told him he was doing a great job and I was grateful for what he was doing;  he smiled and thanked me and I went on my way.

Made me think of all the other “not so nice jobs” that are done every day in our towns and cities and for which those doing them get no thanks or recognition.

So today, I am giving a “shout out” to all those who keep our streets clean, not only by emptying and cleaning litter bins, but who regularly pick up rubbish dropped by unthinking people and who go out of their way to do a good job, even though they are often looked down on because they are doing a menial job. After all, WE are the “rubbish-makers”!

Rubbish, junk, garbage, trash,
    litter, debris, refuse, detritus,
         call it what you like
but if you drop it,
    someone has to come along
         behind you and pick it up.              
MI 29/1/19

P.S. This will make my older son smile - it has long been a joke in our family that I even take photographs of rubbish bins and today, of course, it's true!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.