The Next Chapter!

By carol_dunham

Tea anyone?

No 2 son and his hubby came for lunch today....their first visit since Rob became lactose intolerant and turned vegan. I got everything ready to make a pan of leek and potato soup last night got up this morning and found myself sautéing the onions in butter...not a good start!

Yesterday’s photos came out quite well...a few keepers as they say! Hubby managed quite a flattering one of me...not an easy task given I looked like the Michelin man in all my layers. I uploaded it as my avatar.

The Tiny Tuesday theme is once again mementos/open. This week I’ve picked a child’s China tea set which belonged to a great Aunt. As Aunty Jean was born in 1904 this is obviously over 100 years old. Still in its original box packed with straw and wrapped in brown paper tied with string!

As the eldest of four girls I can just imagine the tea parties they had (it comes with six sets of cups and saucers)...though I expect only on special occasions given the condition it’s still in. I spent lots of time with Aunty Jean as a child and never knew it existed until after she died, when I was 11. Another treasured possession which I wouldn’t part with for the world.

Thanks to KangaZu for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.