IrvingFlashman

By IrvingFlashman

Record Breakers

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MAMA!

My beautiful mother is one year older today; one year wiser; one year better; one year more beautiful.

Today was a wonderful day. My Papa woke me at Early O'Clock to say hi and remind me it was my mother's birthday - as if I would forget haha. I dragged myself out of bed, went downstairs, decided it was too early, and got back into bed. Called Mama to wish her a happy birthday and had a wonderful chat. Speaking to her is always so easy and comfortable. I'm glad to be so much like her, but probably in less ways than I wish.

One of the girls had a friend over for pancakes and tea whilst I quietly sat at the table smiling. I had little to contribute to the conversation so I made pretty pattens with coins instead.

This evening Thomas and I took a train to Cardiff Bay. We ambled through the overcrowded, brightly lit, delicious smelling market whilst pining for everything on every stall. We then took part in a World Record attempt for the most Christmas Crackers cracked in one place. I battled my way through crowds of children and got us our crackers. I got incredibly excited and took plenty of pictures of Thomas with our crackers until he got to the point of 'please stop, this is embarrassing.'
After breaking a world record (casual) we stuffed our faces with large amounts of overpriced Japanese food and took a train back home. The evening was closed in the pub by my house with a friend, and plenty of cheap, greasy takeout food - bought by the boys, not me :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.