Not a woodpecker....

We woke up this morning to a temperature of -19 degrees F (-28C), & I don't even want to think what the wind chill was! But the sun was out, and we finally reached a high of -10 F, which isn't saying much. The news showed a picture of one of our expressways at 9:00 this morning, and there were only 4 cars on it, which is unheard of at that hour, but all the schools & many of the businesses are closed, so most people are just staying home. At least our garage door didn't freeze shut and the car started right away, so we were able to get to Tom's chemo appointment just fine.  After we'd gotten home, Tom told me that the woodpecker was at the peanut feeder, so I looked out & realized that while it looked about the size of the one that comes to eat, it wasn't a woodpecker. I had to look closer and realized it was a black headed chickadee. It's just so puffed up because of the cold that it looked twice as big as normal, & it's the first time I've ever seen it going for peanuts. It must really be hungry, & I noticed that both my feeders in the back yard were empty. I feel bad for the birds, but there's no way I'm wading through 4 feet of snow in the back yard to refill them in this cold. I did, however, throw out handfuls of seed and peanuts both in front and in back, so that will have to hold them for the time being. :))
Addendum: It isn't a black headed chickadee--it's a White breasted Nuthatch! Who knew? (besides Pipersmom)!  Certainly not me! Thanks Elaine!)  :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.