Arctic Sea Fog....

....or Sea Smoke; happens when a mass of very cold air blows over warmer water. If you look through the trees closer to the snow & ice covered beach, you can see huge chunks of ice floating in Lake Michigan, so "warmer water" is relative......but the temperature of the ice is still warmer than the air above it!  A not so balmy -20 below (F) when I woke up this morning. I had a 7:45 appointment to get my hair cut, but my alarm didn't go off and I woke up at 7:31. Good thing I'd laid my clothes out the night before & her salon is only about a 3 minute drive from our house. I put in the garage door code and the poor frozen door slowly crept half way up & stopped--those things only happen when you're running late!! It went back down when I keyed the code in again, then re-tried it & fortunately it went all the way up so I could get my car out! I walked into the salon precisely at 7:45....whew!!!  I'd brought my camera along so after my haircut I went to the bluffs to get a shot of the sea fog, which looked so cool!! (both literally and figuratively!) :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.