The Seacock Success

A sprinkling of snow everywhere and blue skies. I spent a bit of the morning burning some CDs for my cousins. They’re of my Grandad - when his wife died in the mid-sixties he bought three tape recorders - one for himself and one each for his two daughters - he preferred that to phone calls, I guess. And it meant that we children could do our star turns at the microphone. After his death my mum transferred one of his last tapes to cassette and some years ago I transferred it to digital format, so now we can all hear him with his fine Galloway brogue. 
Then success with my seacock! Here it is in my hand after giving it the heat treatment and a muckle clout. First kettle of water I’ve boiled onboard too.

After that, off to see Mary Queen of Scots at the Filmhouse, where Mary, also with a fine Scots brogue (without a trace of French) is very well played by Saoirse Ronan in the moderne feminine machismo style. Not a bad John Knox from David Tennant either, or should that be, a very bad John Knox. No escape from Loch Leven Castle though. How very irksome for the pedant. 
And then, clutching a white pudding supper to warm my handies it was off to the Diggery Doos to see the chums.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.