Creative Mornings is Four

And I went along to the party at Thomas Morton Hall in Leith. Think the last time I was there was for a ceilidh, eons ago. The event was packed, with young dancers to open the night, then the main topic - a presentation about assisted dying. Yes, an important topic and just the sort of thing you expect at a regular Creative Mornings event but didn't feel quite right for a party, and certainly not at such length. I wonder if the people organising it got a little carried away with the collaborative story and lost sight of the subject's effect on the mood. While running a publicity campaign can work on the same sort of meta level for those inside the project, whatever the campaign is for, the subject makes much more of a difference to the audience. Like taking photographs of something - a lot of the technical aspects are the same, whatever is in the frame. Things picked up again with a poet and a singer/songwriter on guitar to round off the evening. For some reason it didn't seem to work as well for me as a networking event. Perhaps that was just me - it's always a bit of a struggle steeling myself to speak to strangers, and I didn't really get into conversations with the people I knew already either. Felt a little on the edge of it all - all these creative people here, what am I doing here? I was the photographer for their first birthday, three years ago, so maybe a feeling of having gone backwards as well. Got an unexpected lift back to Porty from someone I'd never met before which was good though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.