Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Terrific Twelve

Yard bird # 12 to be blipped this year, the Red-bellied Woodpecker.  This is another of my year-round birds, one that I can count on seeing just about any day.  Currently there are two males who visit the feeders throughout the day; I've not seen a female in several months.  This particular male has a patch of feathers missing on the very top of his head - perhaps a spat with another bird or a narrow escape from a predator.  In any event, you can see the narrow strip just barely in this photo.

I took this photo from a distance of about 5 feet with my 300 prime lens so I was unable to get the entire bird in my frame.  It is unusual for these big woodpeckers to get so close and although I was standing perfectly still, I know he knew I was there.  He surely heard my shutter clicking and noticed the slight shuffle of feet as I corrected my balance momentarily.  I'd like to think that he knew I didn't represent any danger to him.  He and I stayed there for 3 or 4 minutes, while he grabbed some suet, occasionally doing the signature head-bob and quick look around.  Finally he left, flying up into a nearby maple tree and tapping some suet into a small crevice there.  

Still ferociously cold today and last night dipped to around 10 below 0 (F), but tomorrow the temps will gradually start to climb.  Hallelujah.  

Hubs and I went to the gym today - 4th day for me this week (smiling virtuously).  

And that's a wrap.  Happy Friday!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.