Kipsie

By Kipsie

There's alway one.

What a day! I might have said that before. It's been a funny old day really. I'm 2 dog/cat/ tortoise/housesitting. One of the dogs, Merlin, a rather gorgeous, sleek, shiny coated young Red setter would not get in my car so a neighbour agreed to transport him & Alfie Moon to their favourite exercise site.
I then arranged to meet a friend for a coffee, botanical and cultural fix at Torre Abbey museum & Gardens. Not being familiar with the area but with a glorious blue sky I decided Google could show the way on foot. Well, I didn't listen to my guide on a couple of occasions, so had to reculculate. A dodgy looking cut through made me speed up a bit, needn't gave worried, but when you're not familiar with a place, it does make you apprehensive. (I spent 6 hours alone on Dartmoor the previous weekend & never once felt uncomfortable. I guess we all have different areas of discomfort). Greeted by a glistening sea, beautifully planted and cared for council gardens, plus the aroma of freshly brewed coffee was perfect. A photographic exhibition on at the museum was a bonus as we were planning on visiting the gardens to enjoy the many species of hellebore. The museum was closed due to staff illness, so will have to pay another visit for the exhibition, & the £2.50 garden entry fee waived. Still managed to give them some of my money. Couldn't resist treating myself to a couple of plants for my new garden. Another coffee and toasted teacake, then time to head back to check on the dogs....... No dogs, no leads, blanket missing. Where could they be. A quick call to the neighbour. No! She had walked & returned them with their leads. Slight panic followed. 45 mins. later, key in the front door, enter 2 well exercised mutts. The daughter who should have flown to Rome to join her mother plus other members of family, didn't fly. Bristol Airport closed due to snow. Grandchildren wanted a beach encounter with grandma's dogs...... Didn't think to leave a note letting me know. Panic over.
A photo shoot with some of the less animated, or so I thought, inhabitants of this crazy household.
#SilS122, #SillySaturday, #ArchieMoon, #Merlin, #neverworkwithanimalsorchildren

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.