Kipsie

By Kipsie

Last night I dreamt of Mandalay again...

Rebecca by author Daphne Du Maurier is my all time favourite book, in fact anything written by her that I've come across and read I've enjoyed. This dusty, old Rex Visible typewriter No 4, keys jammed, ribbon spool broken, is in the house where I'm staying at the moment, it made me think back 20 years ago when I met Daphne Du Maurier's sister. She lived with a companion in a beautiful Devon longhouse up on Dartmoor, and in their study was the writing desk, books & some paintings belonging to their grandfather, the author & artist, George Du Maurier. Both Miss Du Maurier & her companion have passed away, the Devon longhouse left to the National Trust.
I spotted a copy of Rebecca here on the shelf, not the shelves in the photo by the way as they are printed on wallpaper, which I thought was a coincidence.
What else has happened today.. Tomorrow I go to look after Lola & Bob for 2 weeks so needed to finalise a few details with their owners before they head off to Morocco, little things like, what they eat, where & when treats are given. Oh, & for me, how the central heating system works, very important. Ovens & hobs can be challenging but trusty Google can always be called upon these days to put me right. I have had a couple of culinary incidents with induction hobs, but you don't need to hear about them. You probably know what I'm going to say anyway.
Nipped home for lunch, found a little project for hubby to occupy him for a while. A recycle centre makeover.
Was passing Farm Foods on way back to Torquay, and remembered someone recommending a culinary ingredient that they stocked. I couldn't for the life of me remember what it was, not sure if I purchased it subconsciously, is that the correct word????, but did manage to spend £30. Hey ho!! Won't share that with hubby, coz he can never understand how, I go to the supermarket I can pick up items other than what are on my shopping list.
Phew! Right then, time to light the fire, and pour myself a drink. It's cider 'o' clock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.