Lola sat looking longingly out the window

waiting for her mum & dad to return, BUT as they had only been gone a few hours and were heading to Mexico for their hols she was going to have a long wait, in the meantime she has me to look after her & her mate Bob. Lola an Alsatian, Bob, a Jack Russell, both rescue dogs, hence their guardians not wanting them to go into kennels. Every home has its quirks, this one no exception. The back door might not lock/unlock so I've been left a can of WD40, "a squirt of which worked last time it stuck". There is a very damp patch in the corner of the kitchen so use a towel there if it rains heavily.  A child gate at the bottom of the stairs, that will be locked when my bedroom door is open. I love dogs but they do not belong on my bed, especially when they shed hair as Alsatians are prone to do. Lola has only just taken to going upstairs apparently. They can both fight for space on P & J's bed.  P & J have lived here 7 years but never been able to work out the central heating system/timer so "just keep pressing the 1 hour button".
I arrived this morning, only 3 miles down the road from where I live, but this is the village where I was born & raised, so I know it like the back of my hand not so much discovering but revisiting, a bit like watching Michael Portillo now arriving in Hua Hin, Thailand. Hubby & I arrived in Hua Hin on the train from Bangkok, after flying with Aeroflot, the Russian state airline, on Xmas day. (cheap flights),  memorable but not for the right reasons. Ha ha!!! We then took motorbike taxis with our 20kg backpacks to cheap travellers accommodation, a room on a disused squid jetty, the sea swishing beneath, all night. I don't think I slept. I'm sure ,Michael won't be sleeping there. It was'nt the best decision we made but it's giving us something to laugh about, well maybe me, laugh about. So, we had a coffee & natter, P & J were'nt due to leave until 11am plenty of time to panic about suitcase keys etc. Then they were gone. This is the longest flight that Pat has taken for many years as he's had some serious health problems, one of which has resulted in restricted neck/upper body movement so this flight of 9 hours is a bit of a tester. They would ultimately like to revisit Australia & New Zealand, plus visit Thailand for the first time, so they've asked me for some suggestions etc. No pressure. I don't want any input from Jorgiesmum re accommodation/first impressions . There is a story :-)))))) I shall be getting in touch with a few friends still based in Thailand for updates and info so that I'm armed when they return. I think they would love it.

Once they'd gone on their merry way, I unpacked & got settled in. Checked out the fridge, I need to get provisions tomorrow, then I returned to Chudleigh. Did the ironing, made lunch, bubble & squeak and cold ham. There is nothing, absolutely nothing that tastes quite like bubble n squeak, Oh, it was good. Has to be cold, cooked, sprouts, obviously.
Packed a few provisions from home then back to Bob & Lola. The forecast said rain was sweeping in across the south west, fortunately we missed it in Chudleigh Knighton. I got all togged up to battle the elements but did'nt need to. Bob gave me "the" look, so it was just Lola & I.
I'm sat here now & I don't think Bob has been out for a pee since I've been here ..... that's a long time without relieving oneself. "We" might have to go out together before we retire for the night. That's not yet obviously. I've got Silent Witness, then Baghdad Central to watch first, BUT if I should be bored and be in need of some light reading there is plenty here to choose from Tolstoy to Ben Elton and everything in between, on the stairs, beside the bed, under the bedside table, AND a fully stocked book case.
I've brought a "To do" list with me, a pile of magazines that I need to whizz through and discard, plus some paperwork, including the memo from the Alzheimer's Society. I'm doing the sponsored Glow Walk in Bristol with 3 friends in memory of Josie' s mum who actually died on the 6th of March, the day/night of the walk. It's going to be emotional. In the literature there is I believe a reference to blue hair. I NEED TO READ THAT. Pink, I love, blue, well it's for an excellent cause. I do have a JustGiving page if any of you would like to make an donation. It's not a long challenging walk, it's all about the memories. :-)

Thanks to Sue Middleton for hosting Mono Monday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.