TINY touches of red enhance

this painting which I think is in acrylics. It decorates the top of a wooden box that is sitting on the cupboard in the sitting room here. The shards of light are coming from the frosted glass, glass beaded lampshade. The whole cottage is full of bricabrac. Pat loves attending the auction sales, which i imagine is where much of it comes from,  some pieces possibly from France as they have a gite in Brittany, which they go to for much of the year.

Bob gave me the "I'm not walking this morning" look, which meant it was just Lola & myself. There was heavy rain in the night, how do I know, well I heard the pitter patter of feet on the laminate flooring, jumped out of bed, knocked the touch bedside lamp, so one minute it was bright then it was brighter, brighter still, then dark ...got it back on lit then came down stairs, Lola was being sick. Lovely! Only grass thankfully. Cleaned that up then I headed back to bed. It was'nt raining the next time I woke, but it was going to be messy & extremely muddy wherever we walked on the heath so we walked down the old railway track. A good choice. My stick throwing pretty accurate as well which Lola appreciated. She then dropped the stick in the water while she drank, then she could'nt find her stick regardless of her digging around. I certainly was'nt putting my hand in the water it was very chilly.
Lola exercised,  I Dysoned. Imagine if the Dyson was invented before the Hoover. Vacuum is the verb (is that correct?) but so many folks say they have Hoovered. Alsatians shed hair all the time so it's a daily task. The Dyson does a damn good job. IF I could justify spending so much money on a vacuum cleaner I'd buy a Dyson.

I drove around & picked Mum up to go shopping. Our local Coop is undergoing a refit, so chaotic, a section closed off completely, the remaining stock all over the place, & a very reduced offer. I found my bits easily, but Mum who writes her shopping list in the order of the store layout was totally discombobulated, so we went through her list together, then I did the locating & trolley filling. Next Mole Valley picked up some Sturon onion sets plus some free range chicken drumsticks. The chicken from the supermarket has no flavour whatsoever but I have feeling these are going to be delish. The same farmer/company that supplied the free range duck we had on Xmas day. Next stop the Coop in Bovey Tracey. No instore bake off goods at our normal branch, but BT came up trumps. We like a treat with our coffee & natter after shopping, our favourite is the chocolate twist.
Back to Bob & Lola, I did a couple of jobs on-line, renewing Mum's bus pass with a new photo being the most straight forward. If only every task was as simple. Hey ho!!
Hubby arrived, so I started to make some veggie & ham soup, for a late lunch/early dinner. I ATTEMPTED to switch the tv on. The bane of my life ...................... ARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The same thing happened last year when I was here, then I went next door and asked Lisa to come and help me out. These youngsters can suss it out in minutes, unfortunately today when I knocked on her door there was no answer. I pushed this, that, clicked this, then that ... Nope! To be honest I'm not rteally bothered about the tv but hubby said I would miss it if I could'nt get it to work. I gave up and continued to make dinner, then hubby returns with a young guy, it turned out to be Lisa's brother. He sorted it in a few minutes. How maddening. How frustrating. If I can't get my head around it now what am I going to be like when I'm Mum's age, she's 88 this year, which I very often forget as she is so switched on, well apart from electrical gadgets like the tv. Perhaps it's hereditary...
I've just had to push the button on the central heating, I know it's working as there is a TINY RED light on :- ) I must admit having the tv working has been interesting this evening as I've watched 2 episodes of the Portrait Artist of the Year 2020 which is on Sky Arts. We don't have Sky tv at home. I find the diversity of the artists, & their techniques fascinating.
I'm starting new book tonight, spoiled for choice, Exposure - Author Helen Dunmore, is one of the books on the staircase so I'm going to give it a go. Not an author I'm familiar with, which is good. I've just finished The Noble Path written by PeterMay Another author I did'nt know, but   enjoyed the book.

Thanks to mindful_life for hosting Tiny Tuesday & setting the challenge RED

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.