misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

And the Winner is... #747

In a huge rush today as I was baking my first ever pumpkin pie from "Winter Luxury" who was roasted and blipped a few days ago, if you look back to recall. I am to take it this evening for dinner with friends.
So, there I am ready to make it and we're out of eggs! Also low on sugar... so off to the next town where a Walmart lives. Usually there's no one there on Sundays, but it was packed
I was in a hurry. I took my camera but nothing in the store looked interesting. I could not be bothered to stop anyway.
However, speeding down the highway on my way home, I saw the attractive herd of black and white cows that I frequently pass and always wish I would stop to take their photos.
Well, here was today's blip beckoning me to stop. All thoughts of making the pie and the dinner party left my head as I went to the next place to turn around and came back intending simply to blip one or two photos from across the highway through the open car window.
For some reason those cows are outrageous hams and all of them want to be in a Bollywood film about Romantic Cowlife! Even from that great distance across their half field and the highway with speeding cars going both ways, one after another saw me and the camera and they came trotting over to their barbed wire fence. I felt them BEGGING me to come closer. They posed and turned trying to show me their best sides. It was irresistible so I u-turned right in the middle of the road (highly illegal)and parked the car.
Close up I saw each of them have a yellow numbered pierced earring tag in their left ears. Now, it was becoming increasingly difficult for me to decide whose portrait to take as they were each auditioning for the fantasy film role to beat the band.
I finally selected #747 in first place mostly because I liked the airplane model number and she was willing. But #730 had the most personality and stuck her wet, pink and black spotted nose oh so carefully through the barbed wire for me to admire.
I am now posting the blip of the day (whew!) and am happy to report that the thick pumpkin pie with a pecan butter crust topping is out of the oven and cooling while I recover and send this blip to you.
Only one blip a day means we get to see a cow and not the pie... sorry. But, hold out hope because there is about 2 or 3 pie's worth of 'Winter Luxury' waiting in the fridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.