Crook Church again

Today I attended my local church to quiz the neighbours on the history for my geocache entry.   I am not a regular attender and they were, as you can imagine, very pleased to see me.  I learned all sorts of interesting facts - you will not be aware I am sure,  that Richard of Gilpin, who lived in Crook in 1206 killed a wild boar of legendary size and by all accounts the last wild boar in England** .There is a pub up the road called the Wild Boar Inn, possibly near the very site of the kill. 
The altar is wooden - Arts and Crafts designed and made by Simpsons of Kendal . The church is open all the time, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  All items of value  have already been stolen and  if the tea, coffee and biscuits go missing they are sure the thief 's need was great. As you can see the church is another one that has been covered in concrete to make it waterproof. The concrete is over 6" thick. They showed me a pre concrete photo of a very pretty church. 
( **before they escaped in the Forest of Dean brought in from Eastern Europe in the 1990s)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.